• Take a Stand and Raise a Hand!

Total Amount Given

Payton’s Project has an ongoing college scholarship program for outstanding students who have persevered while experiencing bullying/cyberbullying, and for those who have demonstrated efforts to “Freeze Bullying and Cyberbullying” in their schools and communities. Our goal is to give away 20 $1,000 scholarships each year.

2021 Freeze Bullying Scholarship Virginia Application

Together, SPARK, the Education Foundation for Prince William County, VA. Public Schools and the Payton Project, Inc. have established an annual scholarship award in the amount of $20,000 to be provided in $1,000 awards (up to twenty (20) total awards), to eligible high school Seniors, who intend to pursue studies at a higher learning institute, or to current higher learning institute students.

Each school or higher learning institute may submit multiple students for consideration. A designated school or higher learning institute counselor should ensure that applications are submitted in accordance with the Eligibility Criteria listed below.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Must be a current High School Senior, or an active student enrolled in an accredited higher learning institute who intends to pursue or continue studies at an accredited higher learning institute.
  • Submit a video (less than 5 minutes) or written essay (not to exceed 2 pages, 12pt, single spaced) that MUST identify and discuss the applicants’ efforts and actions to directly combat bullying in their school / community or identify and discuss how the applicant has been a victim of bullying and persevered.
  • Obtain two (2) written recommendations from a member of the faculty, staff, or administration at the school in which he or she is enrolled. This recommendation is to serve as validation that the applicants’ words and actions promote an environment of acceptance and tolerance of differences within the school community.
  • Previous Freeze Bullying For Payton Scholarship Award Recipients may reapply each subsequent year for consideration for additional awards of $1,000, if the individual continues to meet the current Eligibility Criteria.
    NOTE: The application packet is available at www.poweredbyspark.org and https://paytonsproject.org

Deadline for Applications

Applications must be typewritten and received* by Friday, April 2nd, 2021. Late applications will not be accepted, and applications cannot be faxed or emailed.

For Prince William County VA. School Applicants: The completed applications may be mailed or hand delivered to the SPARK Scholarship Committee:

For All Other Applicants: The completed applications may be mailed to the Payton’s Project Scholarship Committee:

*If mailed, the post-marked date must be no later than April 2nd, 2021.

The Payton’s Project Scholarship Committee will select and coordinate the announcement of recipients in April 2020. The scholarship awards shall be based on merit and qualifications and shall not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, or disability.

Our hope is to honor students that, like Freeze Bullying for Payton, aim to promote awareness, education and positive change in response to the issues surrounding bullying and cyberbullying.

Awardees 2016-2017

Caroline Dewey
Jordan Shaw
Connor Peak
Jennifer Dang
Charlene Nguyen
Loza Asmare
Adit Poudel
Isabelle Krieger
Savannah McNeil
Rockingham County Schools Awardee
Rockingham County Schools Awardee
Rockingham County Schools Awardee

Awardees 2017-2018      

Emma Snyder
Aaron Paul
Haley Hancock
Brandon Farbstien
Kyra Cauthen
Hayden Sarpong
McKennah Noh
Sylvia Chen
Michael Poore
Zoe Voettiner
Madison Moore
Taylor Covington
Emily Johnson
Heather Moser
Joshua Gruta
Everildo Hernandez-Morales

Awardees 2018-2019                                        

Bethany Elliot                                                 
Victoria Barker                                                
Iqra Noor                                                        
Emily Villacrusis
Caitlyn Joseph
Naomi Biela
Sarah Caufield
Olivia Santee
Olivia McCarthy
Jacob Neal
Hajrah Choudhry

Awardees 2019-2020

Spencer Todd                                                  
Kourtney Regalado
Emily Villacrusis


Make a Donation
Paybal button
Become A volunteer